Despite the fact that we needed to wait till Monday, I hope that was the Talladega race you had been in search of.

Photograph end. Test.

Wild wrecks. Test.

Playoff-altering outcomes. Test.

I did not imply to play spoiler, however when you learn final week’s column (and I am simply assuming you probably did for my very own self-confidence), I gazed into my crystal ball and gave you a sneak peek final week when recapping Kyle Larson’s Dover win.

“Larson picked up his first win of the season within the 30th race, however latest historical past reveals that we’re in all probability not completed with drivers getting their first victory of the season. Within the earlier 10 seasons (2009-18), eight instances a driver has picked up his premiere victory of the yr within the 31st race or later.”

Hey, let’s make that streak 9 instances previously 11 seasons, and we’ll go forward and revisit that stat subsequent season.

However for now, we’ll revisit the Sunday/Monday race at Talladega.

Penske teammates Joey Logano, left, and Ryan Blaney have motive to smile after Blaney’s photo-finish win at Talladega. Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire

Blaney in a photograph end

In a “blink-or-you’ll-miss-it” end, Ryan Blaney edged Ryan Newman by 7-thousandths of a second Monday afternoon at Talladega. That is .007 when you favor decimal factors or are a James Bond fan.

NASCAR started utilizing digital scoring in 1993, and since that point, there have been simply six races determined by .007 seconds or much less. The final time it occurred was in April 2011, additionally at Talladega, when Jimmie Johnson edged Clint Bowyer by .002 in an exciting four-wide end, prompted by the tandem drafting methodology.

In that point, just one different Talladega race was determined by that .007 margin or much less. In July 1993, Dale Earnhardt beat Ernie Irvan by .005 seconds.

Blaney’s three profession wins have come by a median of zero.31 seconds. Out of the 64 drivers who’ve received no less than one Cup race below inexperienced flag since 1993, that’s solely the 12th-smallest common margin. The small largest belongs to “Mr. Pleasure” Jimmy Spencer at zero.02 seconds.

Competitors guidelines the day

The lead was traded round for a lot of the afternoon (or two afternoons) at Talladega. The ultimate depend, 47 lead modifications amongst 19 drivers.

Though 47 lead modifications was a far cry from the report of 88 set in 2010 and tied in 2011, it is nonetheless essentially the most in a race since Could 2014, when Denny Hamlin picked up the victory.

What makes that much more spectacular is that final yr’s Talladega Playoff race had solely 15 lead modifications. That was the fewest at Talladega since Could 1973, when David Pearson lapped the sector and received a race that solely had 13 lead modifications.

The 19 leaders on this weekend’s race additionally had been essentially the most at any observe since 2014, for the reason that October race at Talladega that very same yr, received by Brad Keselowski.

No avoiding the Boyd

1 Associated

Spencer Boyd picked up an sudden Truck Sequence victory Saturday, because the beneficiary of Johnny Sauter driving beneath the yellow line to dam Riley Herbst.

Main solely the ultimate lap, and never really being the driving who did the celebratory burnouts and amassing of the checkered flag on the observe, Boyd grew to become the 107th driver to win in Truck Sequence historical past, and the 327th to win a race in any of the top-three NASCAR collection.

That 107 looks like a variety of winners, however when you think about that 962 drivers have run a Truck Sequence race, that is simply 11 % of the full drivers to choose up a win.


Write A Comment