Denny Hamlin, Darlington Raceway, NASCAR, Cup Collection (Picture by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Photos)

Denny Hamlin secured his second victory of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Collection season in a rain-shortened Toyota 500 at Darlington Raceway after Kyle Busch wrecked Chase Elliott to finish inexperienced flag competitors.

Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin secured his second victory of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Collection season and his third at Darlington Raceway by successful the second race at “The Woman in Black” this week, the Toyota 500.

This race was initially scheduled to be a 228-lap race across the four-turn, 1.366-mile (2.198-kilometer) egg-shaped oval in Darlington, South Carolina, nevertheless it was shortened to 208 laps as a result of rain.

Rain precipitated the race to be delayed initially from its 6:00 p.m. ET begin time to 7:50 p.m. ET. Sarcastically, the race was initially slated to start at 7:30 p.m. ET, however NASCAR moved up the beginning time to attempt to fight the specter of rain.

Hamlin, who gained the season-opening Daytona 500 at Daytona Worldwide Speedway in mid-February, held off teammate Kyle Busch to safe the victory, nevertheless it was Busch who discovered himself within the highlight after the race ended, not Hamlin.

Hendrick Motorsports’ Chase Elliott had been the race chief earlier than a late warning flag despatched many of the discipline into the pits. Elliott restarted in sixth place and labored his manner as much as third place. He had the momentum to move Busch’s #18 Toyota for second coming down the entrance straightaway earlier than Busch got here up the observe a number of automobile widths and easily was him.

Busch admitted that he made a misjudgment.

So as a substitute of probably successful the race behind the wheel of the #9 Chevrolet, particularly with Hamlin on outdated tires, Elliott was scored in 38th place forward of solely race JTG Daugherty Racing’s Ryan Preece, who began the race from the pole place however was knocked out of competition after simply 69 laps.

There was no extra inexperienced flag racing after this incident, which netted the #11 Toyota its second victory of the season.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick, who gained this previous Sunday’s race on the observe “Too Robust To Tame”, completed in third place in his #four Ford forward of Staff Penske’s Brad Keselowski in fourth in his #2 Ford. Joe Gibbs Racing positioned three vehicles within the prime 5, as Erik Jones completed in fifth in his #20 Toyota.

Staff Penske’s Joey Logano, Stewart-Haas Racing’s Aric Almirola, Hendrick Motorsports’ Jimmie Johnson, Wooden Brothers Racing’s Matt DiBenedetto and Joe Gibbs Racing’s Martin Truex Jr. rounded out the highest 10, ending in sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and 10th place of their #22 Ford, #10 Ford, #48 Chevrolet, #21 Ford and #19 Toyota, respectively.

The race featured 17 lead modifications amongst 13 leaders. Stewart-Haas Racing’s Clint Bowyer led a race-high 71 laps and gained each stage one and stage two, however he was concerned in a late wreck and ended up ending in 22nd place. Hamlin led simply 12 laps en path to the victory.

The opposite 11 lap leaders have been Harvick, Keselowski, Jones, Logano, Truex, Roush Fenway Racing’s Ryan Newman, Richard Petty Motorsports’ Bubba Wallace, Germain Racing’s Ty Dillon, Gaunt Brothers Racing’s Daniel Suarez, Premium Motorsports’ Brennan Poole and Elliott. Preece began the race from the pole place however didn’t lead any laps.

The race additionally featured a whopping 11 warning flag intervals, together with one deliberate competitors warning and the 2 deliberate warning flag intervals to finish the primary two levels. Of the 39 drivers who competed within the race, 37 completed it and 23 completed on the lead lap.

Listed below are the complete race outcomes of the 2020 Toyota 500 at Darlington Raceway.

Race outcomes
1st – Denny Hamlin
2nd – Kyle Busch
third – Kevin Harvick
4th – Brad Keselowski
fifth – Erik Jones
sixth – Joey Logano
seventh – Aric Almirola
eighth – Jimmie Johnson
ninth – Matt DiBenedetto
10th – Martin Truex Jr.
11th – Christopher Bell
12th – William Byron
13th – Tyler Reddick
14th – Ryan Newman
15th – Kurt Busch
16th – Bubba Wallace
17th – Michael McDowell
18th – Alex Bowman
19th – Ty Dillon
20th – Austin Dillon
21st – Ryan Blaney
22nd – Clint Bowyer
23rd – Chris Buescher
24th – Corey LaJoie
25th – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
26th – Quin Houff
27th – Daniel Suarez
28th – J.J. Yeley
29th – Joey Gase
30th – Matt Kenseth
31st – Cole Custer
32nd – Grey Gaulding
33rd – Timmy Hill
34th – Garrett Smithley
35th – John Hunter Nemechek
36th – B.J. McLeod
37th – Brennan Poole
38th – Chase Elliott
39th – Ryan Preece

Subsequent: High 10 NASCAR drivers of all-time

The following race on the 2020 NASCAR Cup Collection schedule is the Coca-Cola 600, which is scheduled to happen as initially deliberate even earlier than the coronavirus pandemic. It’s set to be broadcast reside on Fox starting at 6:00 p.m. ET from Charlotte Motor Speedway.


Write A Comment